Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Barcelona is a very walkable city, but having a driver to move around also helps a lot reaching areas that are further from the center.

Today I picked up my clients, Ron & Gina, at their hotel in the Old Town, and started walking around the Gothic Quarter. We visited the Cathedral (they were fine paying the little fee that allows me to take them inside and explain, otherwise they’d have entered it on their own while I waited outside… silly Cathedral rules!), and I believe they loved the cloister: we spent some time watching the geese that live there and taking pictures!

We walked a bit more, seeing the Roman Temple, and the most historical sites such as the Royal Palace. Then on our way to La Rambla we visited the medieval Jewish section, as my clients said they were Jewish and had an interest in that.

La Rambla was full of people as usual, but we enjoyed the lively athmosphere, and then headed to the Boqueria market. It’s one of my favorite places in town! Ron loved the fish section, with all those alive lobsters. And Gina couldn’t resist buying a freshly squeezed fruit smoothie.

Our walk continued to the Eixample district, where after strolling along Rambla Catalunya, we continued in the elegant Passeig de Gràcia to see the magnificent buildings of the Block of Disagreement. Ron seemed to like Casa Batlló by Gaudi best, but Gina said she preferred Casa Lleó Morera by Domènech i Muntaner. I don’t think I have one single favorite between the 3 buildings!

Three blocks further away, we entered Casa Milà, also called Pedrera. The weather was nice, and the views from its fabulous crazy rooftop were spectacular.

After visiting, I took them to a great tapas place I know in the area. We were lucky to arrive early: by the time we left there was already a waiting list to get a table! (I of course know my tricks!) 😉

Lunch was delicious. They went for my recommendation and tried some awesome fried cheese, a lovely meat pintxo (served on a slice of bread, with a green pepper topping it), and the unmissable patatas bravas (fried potatoes with garlic sauce and spicy oil on them).

After lunch we were joined by our driver, who took us to Park Guell. I love the light there in the afternoon: the mosaics look gorgeous! I showed them around the different architectural structures, and we kept taking pictures and enjoying the city views.

Next we drove to the Sagrada Familia church, were we don’t have to stand in line because my tour guide certification allows me to skip lines (so convenient, as today there was a line of at least 1 hour to go in!). Ron and Gina were amazed at the interior of the church: it doesn’t look like any other church they’ve seen before!

After spending as much time as they needed admiring the church and learning about it, we went back to the driver, who drove us along the waterfront, port and beaches (so lovely in the afternoon!), then we headed to Hill of Montjuic, were a couple of stops to see the Olympic sites and some more city views made the perfect ending point for our tour.

What a lovely day it has been!

Did you like it? Get more information about my Barcelona in a day tour.

